pretty mood boards :)

From the way cool website..

http://www.prettynostalgic.co.uk

Really love this magazine/website, very pretty things in it.

 

In the run up to issue three, we challenged our favourite designers, British makers and bloggers to put together tactile mood boards that show off their home decorating 

Industrial meets kitsch

“Our house is a mixture of all things 50s. My partner, Hanson, is passionate about mid-century industrial design: note the brown desk lamp, which we bought at the War and Peace military show.

Photography plays a great part in our lives. Hanson is a photographer who collects and uses vintage cameras and our house is littered with photography paraphernalia. The lovely old Rolleiflex and Leica M3 don’t just look gorgeous on a shelf, they take beautiful pictures too.

I love collecting weird old photos of couples and have a collection of strange wedding photos, mainly found at car boot sales. Contrasting with Hanson’s penchant for all things industrial, I love a bit of 50s kitsch: hence my ceramic dog and cat collection.

We have a kitchen wall decorated with vintage Skyline utensils – I love the coloured handles – and we’ve run this bright 50s palette throughout our home.

I can’t think of a better way to listen to old music than on a real record player: the records are propped up on a vintage atomic wire rack in our living room. The sleeves are so bright and I just adore the pictures of dancing teens.

The fabric and the hats represent our love of vintage clothing – some things are too beautiful to be stuffed in a wardrobe. This is a glimpse of the riot of colour and fun design that the 1950s has brought to our home.”

Jeni is a vintage lifestyle blogger from London. Her blog, Yesterday Girl is a peek into her vintage life, along with styling tips and a record of her outings on the London vintage scene.

 

For the love of wallpaper

“I always keep left over scraps from any wallpapering jobs I do. As well as being a hoarder, I hate to see these lovely bits thrown away: they are perfect for creating walls of patchwork wallpaper.

I’ve created effective wallpaper patchworks using leftover papers before, but my idea here would be to embellish the wall with found and collected images.

I collect postcards, old and new, as well as 60s and 70s illustrated flower and gardening books – and both of these are perfect to work into a patchwork of wallpapers. I found a whole box of these Brooke Bond tea cards at a car boot sale recently: I love the tiny plant drawings of wild flowers, such as musk thistle, meadow cranesbill and borage.

I’ve kept the colours light, delicate and warm to work with the main block printed paper and I’ve picked out the pink as the colour to bounce some accents off, like the purple splashes on the tea cup and on the postcard of the women’s jacket in the V&A, dated 1895.

I’ve included a vintage leather suitcase and some gorgeous coloured buttons, which I’ve been collecting just for fun.”

Michelle is a Bristol-based decorator, with a passion for printed wallpapers. Originally inspired by her grandfather, who kept a shed packed with amazing pots of coloured powders and pigments, she then went on to work for historical wallpaper company Cole & Son. 

 

Pastel and lace

“When creating moodboards, I am so often drawn to items with history: lace, old wallpaper or china. I like their muted colours and the care that created them. They are often the most delicate of materials, yet have survived hundreds of years. Many of the objects I used in this board were passed down to me from my grandparents, so they hold extra meaning.

I have always loved gathering, whether that be flowers from the garden, quotes from books, vintage postcards, old china, beads or buttons. I also love to purchase handmade, especially where vintage items are reworked and embellished: pieces from Emma Cassi, Sesame and Lilly and Miss Teapot feature on my board, for that very reason.

I have used pretty vintage wallpaper, a French postcard and a book page for the background. A silver beaded notebook, in just the shade of pink I most love, holds some vintage silk threads. Old buttons on their silvered cards rest on folded lace and Liberty fabric. Hydrangeas picked from the garden add their soft pastel petals. There’s a tiny notebook, which has been cut down from a vintage book and bears my name, and the china wren is from my childhood.

These things old and new, gifted and collected, all speak softly to my heart and help me in making new choices for interior style and furnishing.

Kat loves pastels, wildflowers and vintage lace and enjoys seeking moments of beauty in the everyday. She lets her heart guide her decorating choices: it’s there, she says, that the decisions are more easily made. She blogs under secretsofabutterfly.typepad.com

 

Emporium of colour

“Our home is an emporium of rich colour, intricate patterns and sumptuous textures. Colours are paramount: they inspire, comfort and calm. We love rich palettes and bold statements of red, black and gold, which sing out and give us a fabulous shock to the system; but also subtle pinks, lilacs and creams to mellow and soothe. Colours create highs and lows and it’s these that are fundamental to maintaining equilibrium in our home.

We fill each room with flowers and we both lust for patterns: the richer the better, the more detailed the more glorious. We enjoy how patterns interact, clash and complement. Our home is tactile and we believe you’ve got to want to feel, pick things up and explore their history.

We’re treasure hunters and love found objects. Each one reminds us of a time, a place or a person. Much of our collection had a previous owner and their histories intrigue us.

We have a penchant for handmade objects with a sense of humour: the nutcracker and wooden spools take us back to an exhibition we took part in, and our pastel pink roses remind us of the beautiful rice paper roses we admired on cakes as little girls. Our pomander, postcards from Korea, Indian lotus flower bell and religious icons all remind us of our travels and we wouldn’t feel at home without them.

Jacqueline and Shannan are mother and daughter, designers, writers and life-long flower lovers. Inspired by natural forms and influenced by cultural references from bygone eras, they collect treasures to inspire their designs. You can see their designs at Ellorias Boutique.

 

Magpie’s nest

“My decorating style is that of a magpie, I rarely set out to create a particular look and wouldn’t consider myself an expert with interiors. Decorating seems to happen by accident and evolves constantly as I give a home to each treasure I bring back from a flea market, so it’s difficult for me to tire of any room for long.

Books feature everywhere in my tiny house and I love them almost as much for the rainbow of spines as I do for the words.

Jewel tones of royal blue, deep green and red against neutral whites and creams are a common theme now I think about it. Old postcards pop up all over the place like sprouting daisies and fascinate me with the window they offer into a bygone age, their beautiful penmanship and the stories they tell.

I like to place feather or fabric butterflies in unexpected places; creeping over the corner of a picture frame or happily camped over a low archway. Found glass bottles catch the light beautifully; they’re inexpensive and I’m constantly moving them to different spots.

One thing I do well is a brew. This passion for tea means my cupboards are overflowing with vintage crockery. I’m a lifelong Jane Austen fan and peacocks represent Pride and Prejudice to me. Lastly, my little porcelain posy: no watering required and it blooms all year round. I love a little something floral to cheer a small space.

Jem is a clutterbug with a vintage heart. When she is not absorbed in a book or crafting, she blogs about her latest vintage finds and the simple things that make her smile. She blogs underbeautifulclutter.blogspot.co.uk

 

Beautifully organised

“My mood board is a collection of objects that about both useful & inspiring. I love notebooks and I write lists every day for everything and anything – these ones are great because they’re pocket sized. The print is a paper collage I made during an artist’s residency in rural Finland last December, inspired by the icy, midwinter landscape.

My lomo camera is great. It’s really exciting to get films developed these days, even if some photos don’t turn out too well. The tiny envelope is from a flea market in Belgium – it’s written in Flemish so I don’t understand it but I love the look and handwriting. The cookery book How to Improve all your Cooking was my granny’s – it’s full of recipes for cakes and buns although I haven’t attempted any yet.

Lucy Driscoll is a collage artist and illustrator living in Windsor. She creates images using old magazines and publications, which she finds at car boot sales and flea markets.

 

Cosy not cluttered

“Our home is full of stuff – that’s the best way to describe it, “stuff”. My husband often says he feels like he lives in a charity shop, which is pretty much the effect I’m going for, and I’ve tried to get that across in my mood board. I like to be surrounded by things – pretty things, meaningful things, colourful things – and have tried to make our home as cosy and interesting as possible without being too cluttered. I like it to be a little bit higgledy-piggledy, but above all, comfortable.

I studied photography at college, and back then we were still using manual SLR cameras and darkroom processing – ever since then I’ve adored manual photography, and now collect old cameras. It’s one of my aims in life to own a vintage Leica! As well as vintage cameras, I also collect old china, pyrex in particular. You can pick up such lovely things in charity shops for pennies, and the only problem now is finding the space for any new additions.

There’s an awful lot of crochet on my board, which represents my love for crafting. My Mum taught me to crochet, and I’ve made blankets, cushion covers and garlands. I love that you can create such beautiful things with just a ball of wool and small metal hook.

The lace tablecloth that forms the background was my mum’s, and shows how I love having a house filled with history and sentiment. I love every single thing in my house, but my real treasures are things that have been handed down through the ages. Family means a lot to me, and I like the fact that several generations sort of come together under one roof.

I’ve got a bit of a thing for old maps and photographs, which my husband finds a bit odd. I’ve got a small collection of vintage pictures from the 1920′s onwards, nobody famous, just people. I’m fascinated with social history, everything from lifestyle to clothing, which is why I’ve got pictures of somebody elses Great Grandparents on my walls! Also on our walls are a large number of prints and postcards, which have been framed – we treat our walls like a miniature art gallery, and whether its wallpaper, wrapping paper or a proper piece of artwork, if we like it, it’s going up.

There’s not a lot of colour in my board – for me, it’s all about prints and textures. We have white walls and neutral flooring (we rent, so we have to tolerate carpets, sigh) and then any colour is featured in tablecloths, cushions, throws and knick knacks. I seem to lean towards the colours of the 1970′s; olive, burnt orange, teal, mustard, which is shown through the floral fabric at the bottom of the board.

Portsmouth-based Vicky Haynes blogs under theowlandtheaccordion.blogspot.com about her adventures in thrifting and crafting. She’s a little bit addicted to charity shops and vintage dresses, and spends a lot of time crocheting. She is currently preparing for her second vintage and craft market.

 

A colourful collection

“This mood board represents all the key items we have collected over the years to go into the our newly renovated lounge. We have mixed natural materials such as the brown battered leather case and shiny copper with hand blown glass and cream painted floorboards. The overall colours and styles are typical of the early 1970s – teaming pieces from the arts and crafts movement such as the William Morris fabric and Mucha advertising prints with the teak and gold tones of the Metamec starburst clock and space age heat bent lamp shade. The whole look reminds me of the lounge I lived in with my parents when I was young: with their brown walls and Sanderson Morris Golden Lily covered sofa. The teal walls brings the look into the modern world with its vibrant, happy shade. The pieces themselves bring back memories too as the blue bubble glass vase belonged to my Great Aunt and the amber bottle to my husbands grandma.

We particularly love the lamp shade, we literally fell in love under it – but that’s another story. The clock was left behind by the previous owners when we bought our family home, which we are currently painstakingly restoring. Finally, the Picasso print reminds us of trips to Barcelona and the colour ties in with the overall scheme perfectly. I love our lounge, the things in it and the peaceful space we have created.

Myself and my new husband (as of last week) run an online business called Your Vintage Life, sourcing, restore and selling vintage treasures. Our whole life is pretty vintage with the cars we drive, the toys our kids play with to what we wear.

Kate Honnor, who usually blogs under yourvintagelifeblog.com, is about to launch a new website calledVintage Bedford: a guide to all the great things that happen across her county. Along with her husband and two children, Herbie and Kitty, Kate will often be found digging up veg, camping in their 1967 split screen camper van or dancing like loons around the lounge to their great vinyl collection.

One thought on “pretty mood boards :)

  1. I love them all. I want different things out of each of them, but mostly the little seafoam lomo camera. I think it’s fun to make little vinettes of your favorite things.

Leave a Reply

