Mono printing heaven… ?

Brill post on monoprinting in york!

Chatterart

I spent a disproportionate amount of time stressing last week about the prospect of covering a mono printing workshop at the Art Gallery.

I’d set the class up months ago for a local artist, but as the weeks rolled by, through no fault of her own, it transpired that she wouldn’t be available to teach.

I thought ah well, mono printing with acrylics…..I usually do this with printing inks…transfer method…Tracy Emin style…it shan’t be very different, I’ll cover no probs.

I went over to Sudeshnas so she could talk me through the process…some of her lovely playful prints are above. She’s a regular on the Open Studios circuit and has a very particular printing style. Undeterred, I collected the acrylic sheets that were to act as our plates, extra paint & paper from Fulford….all good.

I started printing on the Monday. Loved the process of painting on plastic with acrylic…wonderful. Sliding your brush across…

View original post 244 more words

Leave a Reply

