DIY wallpaper. Personalised.

« RED WINE PASTA | MAIN | SISTER STYLE: DINER DATE »

DIY INSTAX WALLPAPER

DIY Instax WallpaperI have always wanted a wall in my home that was completely filled with photos! A couple weeks ago I got it stuck in my brain that this wall in our studio was the perfect spot. There were a couple challenges, though: 1. The wall is HUGE. 2. I don’t have that many instant photos or film. 3. Even if I did buy enough film to fill the whole wall it would cost thousands of dollars and probably take months (or years?) to take enough photos. 

So, I came up with a solution. We “wallpapered” this wall with color copies. The cons: They are not real photos, and they do repeat. The pros: It was done in a couple days, and I can now (slowly) cover the repeats with real photos over the next few years. One more pro: We’re in love with it! The photo wall makes our studio room a happier place to work. 

Here’s how we did it:How we made our instax photo wallMy brother helped me design 11×17 inch images with 9 Instax wide sized photos per sheet. We then created 4 different sheets with different photos. You could always do more if you wanted to reduce repeat photos! We measured the wall and ordered about 130 sheets on 80 lb card stock. We found an inexpensive local printer that did them for around $1 per sheet, so the entire wall only cost about $130! We got the sheets printed and trimmed. Next, we adhered them to the wall. We started with just sturdy double sided tape strips. This didn’t work for our wall, so we started using a staple gun. Obviously, someday we will have a lot of staples to pull, but I am ok with that. I plan to keep this wall up for a couple years, so It was worth it to me. If you have satin paint you may not need a staple gun. I made an instagram collage in our last home using only masking tape. It was up for more than 6 months with pretty minimal curling. 

So, we adhered and stapled the sheets to the wall. We had to cut some to fill in the leftover space around the edges of the wall at the end. This took an entire afternoon with Katie and Kinsey cutting and stapling. Not bad considering the size of this wall!  

Note: We created the wallpaper to match the exact size of Fujifilm INSTAX Wide photos. We chose this instead of polaroid because the film is fairly inexpensive and accessible. It’s our favorite instant camera.Add real photosAdd real photosNow that it is fully installed I will be covering some of the repeat photos with real Instax photos. I love that I can do this over time and that I don’t have to wait until I collect a thousand photos to create the wall! It’s so much less pressure. 🙂DIY Instax Wall via A Beautiful MessTa-Da! Here’s a photo of the finished product! I am super thrilled with the outcome. It has so much personality.DIY Instax Wall (A Beautiful Mess)DIY Instax Wallpaper  I hope that this tutorial encourages some of you to try a photo statement wall. I am completely pleased with the quality, the price and the time it took us to install the wallpaper. It was a fun project and something we will enjoy for a long time. Have any of you created a photo wall? Is this something you would try? 

 

http://www.abeautifulmess.com

Published by Help Save Money

Hello and welcome to Help save money Blog! Here is the backbone to my creations and also my new venture with saving money. I will be exploring my inspirations, tutorials, new ideas, planners i'm in love with, saving tips and tricks and other things that i generally find interesting!

9 thoughts on “DIY wallpaper. Personalised.

  1. Oh my my, I absolutely LOVE this idea. I don’t quite know “where” I would put an idea like this..but it really would brighten up the atmosphere! I would want to make sure I could get them all off if I was to move go. Definitely a future project for me ! Your wall looks fantasttiiic !

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tricky Enough

Explore and Share the Tech

Cash Flow is this Easy

How I set up cash flow for myself and my family so we are set for Life !

Missguided Queen

All natural Relaxation and self care experience

Rhian Westbury

Money Saving, Budgeting, Travel & Lifestyle

JamieAdStories

What is writing really like?

Free Form Quilts

quilting and life go together like wine and cheese

Arts to Crafts

Fun Craft Ideas for All Ages